Welcome to the Opal Metro Resources Hub


Sydney Metro offers a new generation of fast, safe and reliable train services. Metro services are high-frequency, driverless trains, which can quickly take you between Tallawong Station and Chatswood Station. With frequent services you can just turn up and go.

Metro network

The Metro network is the newest mode of transport available as part of the Opal network, with additional stages currently under construction.

Sydney Metro is an automated rapid transit system operated by Metro Trains Sydney (MTS). When construction is completed, the standalone railway will consist of 31 metro stations and more than 66 km of new metro rail.

Outlined below are the Metro Network Entities:

Metro entity


Sydney Metro Northwest

The first stage connects Sydney's north western suburbs to Chatswood. It consists of 23 km of track between Rouse Hill and Epping and includes eight new stations. The 13 km Epping to Chatswood rail link was converted to rapid transit standards and segregated from the existing Sydney Trains network. Passengers are able to interchange with the existing system at both Epping and Chatswood.

Sydney Metro City & Southwest

As part of stage 2 of the Metro network, from the north west, the metro rail is being extended under Sydney Harbour, through new underground city stations and beyond to the south west. It will be approximately 30 km in length and covers 18 stations, including new stations such as Crows Nest, Victoria Cross, Barangaroo, Pitt Street and Waterloo.

Sydney Metro West

Sydney Metro West is a proposed future stage that will operate between the Sydney CBD and Westmead and will service the key precincts of Greater Parramatta, Sydney Olympic Park, The Bays Precinct and the Sydney CBD.

The line will include the following stations:

  • Westmead
  • Parramatta
  • Sydney Olympic Park
  • North Strathfield
  • Burwood North
  • Five Dock
  • The Bays Precinct

Sydney Metro Greater West

Sydney Metro Greater West is a proposed future stage that will service Greater Western Sydney and the new Western Sydney International (Nancy-Bird Walton) Airport.

Sydney Metro Map/Route

The metro stops at 13 stations along the Metro North West Line, including 8 new metro stations and 5 upgraded stations.